Book Details:
ISBN-13: 9781662508820
ISBN-10: 1662508824
Publisher: Thomas & Mercer
Publish Date: March 2023
Dimensions: 8.19 x 5.35 x 1.02 inches
Shipping Weight: 0.79 pounds

About the Book:

From USA Today bestselling author Debra Webb comes a thrilling installment in the Finley O’Sullivan series about a well-connected woman who stands accused of her husband’s murder. She’s innocent—unless Finley proves otherwise.

Legal investigator Finley O’Sullivan has had a difficult year in the wake of her husband’s murder. But in her line of work, there’s no time to grieve. Her job is to protect the firm’s clients and defend their innocence through grueling investigative work.

Ellen Winthrop is a force to be reckoned with in the financial world. In a male-dominated industry, she shattered the glass ceiling by empowering and promoting women. But now her husband is dead, killed in the Winthrop family home—and she stands accused of his murder.

Finley, as the investigator at the firm Ellen Winthrop hired to defend her, has a clear objective: prove that Ellen didn’t do it. But the deeper Finley digs into the Winthrops’ marriage, the more she starts to doubt Ellen’s story. The uncomfortable truth is that Ellen Winthrop may in fact have killed her husband.

And he might not have been the first.

My Review:

The second book in the Finley O’Sullivan series explained a lot of loose ends and was a totally satisfying read. Finley and Jack are hired by wealthy Ellen Winthrop to represent her when she is suspected of murdering her philandering husband. On the path to investigating Ellen’s case, Finley makes astonishing discoveries about the murder of her own husband Derrick as well as uncovering secrets about Jack and her mother, the Judge who barely speaks to her. The characters were credible and fascinating, with backstories that were riveting and complex. The plot was fast-paced and equally complicated, with brilliantly woven twists and clever details thrown in as clues. I really enjoyed this book, especially finding out more about the characters and how determined Finley is to get at the truth about Derrick’s death. There were sub-plots and secondary characters in the mix, too, all insightfully included into the main plot and giving the plot an edgy feel, with the accompanying misdirection that is appreciated by mystery fans like me. This is a story rich in detail and even has some romance peeking it. Those who enjoy a good whodunit with some breath-stopping suspense will enjoy this book.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher and the author via Netgalley. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255, “Guidelines Concerning the Use of Testimonials and Endorsements in Advertising.”

Rated PG-13 due to content and subject matter.
DEBRA WEBB is the USA Today bestselling author of more than 150 novels, including reader favorites the Faces of Evil, the Colby Agency and the Shades of Death series. She is the recipient of the prestigious Romantic Times Career Achievement Award for Romantic Suspense as well as numerous Reviewers Choice Awards. In 2012 Debra was honored as the first recipient of the esteemed L. A. Banks Warrior Woman Award for her courage, strength, and grace in the face of adversity. Recently Debra was awarded the distinguished Centennial Award for having achieved publication of her 100th novel. With this award Debra joined the ranks of a handful of authors like Nora Roberts and Carole Mortimer.
With more than four million books sold in numerous languages and countries, Debra’s love of storytelling goes back to her childhood when her mother bought her an old typewriter in a tag sale. Born in Alabama, Debra grew up on a farm and spent every available hour exploring the world around her and creating her stories. She wrote her first story at age nine and her first romance at thirteen. It wasn’t until she spent three years working for the Commanding General of the US Army in Berlin behind the Iron Curtain and a five-year stint in NASA’s Shuttle Program that she realized her true calling. A collision course between suspense and romance was set. Since then she has expanded her work into some of the darkest places the human psyche dares to go. Visit Debra at

Available NOW! Purchase Links: (BN) (Book Shop) (Target) (Books-a-Million)

Books in the Series:

THE NATURE OF SECRETS is the second book in the series and may be read as a standalone. I recommend, however, that you start with the first book in the series so you get to know Finley O’Sullivan and what makes her search for the truth in THE NATURE OF SECRETS. Here is a link to the series: Amazon


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.